Mr. Magnetik – Body to Body (GNCD002)

CD & Digital Release Date: 05.12.2016


01. Autocracy

02. Matiere Noire

03. The Ghost Feat. Codenys and De Meyer of Front 242

04. Runaway Feat. Rori

05. Werra

06. Body to Body

07. Tokyo Girl Feat Mai Tsuruoka

08. My Bride

09. Ardentis

10. The Target

11. Dark Gloves

12. Self Destruction

After surfacing from the Liège metal basin in the early nineties, Mr.Magnetik never lost that peculiar metallic quality:attraction. He loves ears as much as eyes, and is most of all a multifaceted person: as much a talented dj and producer as a brillant graphic designer. Wearing both these hats is what propelled Mr. Magnetik (whose real name is Chris Vermiglio) into thehottest layers of the underground furnace of the electronic music factory. Dj at the best parties and on the bill of the biggest Belgian events (Dour Festival/Les Ardentes/TransArdentes/Fuse/10DaysOff… and even abroad (Cocoon Frankfurt/5DaysOff/Melkweg/Effenaar …): Magnetik brings the heat – if he’s not too busy designing cutting edge graphic design for clubs,fashion and musicians,or launching his own collection of T-shirts. Half dance-floor Clark Kent, half Andy Warhol entertaining gallery crowds..... Chris started producing is own music since 2008 on labels such as GND, Lektroluv Records, Coco Machete, Badlife... it was the moment for him to translate his versatility into one big and personnal project and bring together Graphic design, music production and stage perfomance. Entirely financed via Crowfunding the project «Body to Body» consist of an album a stage design for video mapping. The music is clearly oriented electro techno influenced by the cold wave the belgian ebm sounds and synth pop music. For his first album chris got the chance to work on one track with the legendary Codenys and De Meyer of Front 242. Oh yes, you’ve already been magnetized!


Shadow Dancer – Brothers in Arps (GNCD001)

CD & Digital Release Date: 10.10.2014

01. Trust
02. Shake Feat. David AKZ (Album Version)
03. Manhunter
04. Matta (Album Version)
05. Help Center
06. Strut
07. The Light
08. Hydrate (Album Version)
09. Black Fox
10. Breakable
11. Haunted
12. Unspeakable Things
13. Racine
14. Supertoys
15. The Gift (CD Bonus Track)

Shadow Dancer, two brothers with a love of old synths (particularly ones that arpegiate) and strong coffee, have been releasing music together since 2006. After releasing their debut album ‘Golden Traxe’ on Boysnoize Records in 2009, they have gone on to release tracks on Turbo Recordings, Unknown To The Unknown, Balkan Vinyl and, of course, GND Records. We now present to you their second album: ‘Brothers in Arps’. This album is the culmination of two and a half years of work in the studio from the Farrier brothers. The album kicks off with ‘Trust’, with sounds of FM synths slowly coming out of hibernation to a groove-laden IDM vibe. Then it’s straight into ‘Shake’, Shadow Dancer’s first ever vocal collaboration and the flyer single for the album (which came with fantastic remixes from The Hacker, Vin Sol and Posthuman). Bad Life Records’ David AKZ provides a wonderfully spooky Gahan-esque vocal and lyric involving black hearts, despairing ‘vultures’ and voices from another land (possibly heard only within his own head). We have no idea what it means but it’s strapped on to an insistent Detroit techno riff that you hopefully will be unable to stop shaking your body to. Next is ‘Manhunter’, a sleazy slice of italo-disco which constantly mutates with increasing intensity until it drags you back to it’s catchy main theme. A track from last year’s ‘Hydrate’ EP (released on Unknown To The Unknown) follows: ‘MATTA’ is an addictive bit of acid with a vocal nagging about ‘matter…energy…dimension…or time’. It appears here in an exclusive remixed form. Then comes ‘Help Center’ a reflective piece of electronica with eerie arpeggiating synths and warm bass. ‘Strut’ follows, a storming, throbbing techno track, which will appear as a single later in the year with remixes. The first half of the album is rounded of by ‘The Light’ a beautiful ambient interlude that recalls Angelo Badalamenti and which demonstrates Shadow Dancer’s versatility and the sheer range of influences that went into making this album. The second half kicks off with ‘Hydrate’, a jacking house track which was the lead track from last year’s UTTU EP which was first premiered by Mixmag last September and has been Shadow Dancer’s biggest track of the last year. This is an exclusive extended version. Next is ‘Black Fox’, a very melodic slice of old school techno, which recalls early Inner City as well as Shadow Dancer’s own ‘Second City’ track from 2012. Then comes ‘Breakable’, a mutant funk track that was released on GND last summer and was remixed by
Matrixxman, Jokers of the Scene and J.Tijn. ‘Haunted’ follows, a spooky hybrid of garage and techno with wailing vocals. ‘Unspeakable Things’ is next. Originally released on GND last summer, an electro track for contortionist head-spinners, with a vocal reminiscing about doing “all sorts of unspeakable things on the dancefloor’. This was recently remixed to great effect by Paul Mac, Dave Tarrida and joeFarr. ‘Racine’ is a track that Shadow Dancer have been playing to devastating effect in their DJ sets for the past few years and has remained anonymous…until now – a frantic mix of cut up vocals and disco hooks. ‘Supertoys’ rounds of ‘Brothers in Arps’, a wistful piece of electronica to take you off somewhere special.

The DJ’s say (Selection):

Boys Noize: congrats on the new album x”

Mark Broom: Trust.Help Centre.The Light. LOVE these! Good work lads:)”

Funk D’Void: “great to finally see these out! 10/10 congrats boys, I’m proud of ya The Light still gives me goosebumps every time I hear it…plus the new tracks I haven’t heard before are fantastic, keep it up and get those unfinished tracks finished….

Tensnake: looking forward to this thank you”

Phon.O (50Weapons): great album. and cool artwork. like it a lot. cheers.”

DJ Feadz (Ed Banger): Big Up Bros !8888888!8!!!!!! many xxxxxxxx”

Fake Blood: Always liked „Hydrate“ – great tune. But for me „Trust“ and „The Light“ are the faves on here. Really good.”

Sinden: Loads of stuff id play on here! Album flows nicely!”

Mixhell: killah record!”

Ben Mono: great release, hard to pick a favorite.”

Jokers of the Scene:“ 5 Stars without listening. About to pour out my own black cup of coffee, sit back and eagerly enjoy the arpeggiations

The Japanese Popstars: Big fans of Shadow Dancer, the album sounds great on first listen”

David Carretta: beautifull, full support ! thanks”

Sharooz: 5 stars of course. A modern day Leftism”


Dr Motte: “shadow dancer comes here with a great electronic album with full of variations of styles and soundz almost like a compilation. I love acid on „matta“! strut is a killer too! play & full support!

Media Feedback (Selection):

B. Traits (BBC Radio 1): Album Airplay

Coco Cole (CapitalXtra London): Album Airplay

Andi Durrant (Capital FM): Album Airplay

Sinden (Kiss FM London): Album Airplay + Shadow Dancer Guest DJ Mix

Das Kapital (5FM South Africa): Album Airplay + Shadow Dancer Guest DJ Mix

Carolina Limon (91.5 EXA FM Mexico): Album Airplay

Mr Spring (RTE 2FM): Album Airplay

Sirkus Sirkuz Radio Show (RTE 2FM): Album Airplay & Interview

Doc Jones (92.5 FM Germany): Album Airplay + Shadow Dancer Guest DJ Mix

Harder Blogger Faster Blog: Album Review

Wickedstyle Blog: Album Review

Mixmag UK: Electco Album of the month (Album Review November Edition)